Star Wars – The Force Awakens

THE MOST ANTICIPATED FILM OF THE DECADE!

It was announced way back in November 2012 that George Lucas had sold the Star Wars saga to Disney, and that there would be a new Star Wars film! This was probably the best news I heard that year (apart from our offer being accepted on our first house). I was working at The Disney Store at the time and it was all anyone could talk about. But what made this more special for me was that two of my favourite brands were working together!

You see, although the original Star Wars trilogy was made and released before I was born, I still grew up with it. Any time it was on TV I watched it. And when I got a video recorder I had it recorded on video so I could watch it over and over again. Well that is until I bought the trilogy on video when it was re-released in 1997 for the 20th anniversary. They are my favourite Sci-Fi/Action films.

However, I, like so many Star Wars fans, got very excited when Episodes 1-3 was released. I was mainly excited about the fact that I was getting to experience a little of what it would have been like when the original trilogy was released. But they didn’t have the same affect on me as the original 3 films (episodes 4-6). So I am classed as an “Original” Star Wars fan, rather than the “new”. Now my husband had never watched all 6 episodes. So when I got all 6 on Blu-Ray for Christmas when they were first released, we had a Star Wars weekend. But, he prefers episode 1-3!!! So you can imagine, we have a lot of debates about which trilogy is the best.

It will be interesting to see this new take on the saga, but I have read that J.J. Abrams is leaning more towards the look of the original trilogy! And so far all we know is it’s a continuation of the saga, set thirty years after Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983).

I am so excited about seeing it, I have Odeon’s website bookmarked so I can pre-order tickets for the release date! And with the release of the first lot of merchandise last weekend, the excitement is building up!

Now when my son grows up, he will be able to say he was born the year of Star Wars – The Force Awakens! Hopefully when he is a bit older, he will enjoy the films as much as I do. But until then, we are having some dress-up fun…

So I put the big question to you – which Star Wars trilogy do you prefer?

“May the Force be with you!”

Jamie

Original post pictures not available

Originally posted SEP 11TH 2015 on previous website

Leave a Reply

