Marvel – Guardians of the Galaxy

Marvel, like the Star Wars saga, was bought by Disney (with a few cans/can’t dos) a few years ago. Around about the time Iron Man 2 came out. And like Star Wars, I am a huge fan of the Marvel comics, characters and stories. I liked the Marvel films that were made before this happened, but they weren’t amazing. it was really when the “buzz” of this “Marvel Universe” was around that it began to get interesting. Like the first end of credits clip that was seen at the end of The incredible Hulk. Something big was going to happen.

When I first read about this particular Marvel movie that was in the making, I was intrigued. Mainly because I had never heard or seen anything to do with “Guardians of the Galaxy“. The cast that was already attached to the film was also making me curious.
GOTGposterIt was released in the cinemas last August. I didn’t go to see it in the cinema – but my sister and brother-in-law, and my husband’s parents went to see it. They all said it was very good and that we should see it. However, along with the price of cinema tickets these days, we chose to wait until we got it on DVD.

Christmas 2014, both my father-in-law and brother-in-law got it on Blu-Ray. So I borrowed it and watched it at home (in 3D as well)… OH. MY. GOD. This movie was BRILLIANT! Along with Avenger’s Assemble, and Captain America : The Winter Soldier, Guardian’s of the Galaxy is one of the best from the Marvel Universe!

Now I think because I had no expectations of the film, that’s probably one of the many reasons I enjoyed it so much. I was glued from the minute it started, along with the start of a brilliant soundtrack! “I’m not in love…” by 10cc opened the film. I was not expecting that song to open a superhero film. And then one of my fav songs from Ally McBeal played (without the dancing baby) “hooked on a feeling…” by Blue Swede. The songs were just getting better and better…

…I can hear The runaways “Cherry Bomb” and David Bowie “Moonage Daydream”, this was an “Awsome Mix”. But one of the most unusual of them all is played during one of the best scenes in the film…
daneoffbro2…”O-o-h child things are gona get easier…” Brilliant!!! Love it! “It’s a dance off bro. Me and you”

The film ends with two of my personnel favourite songs: “Ain’t no mountain high enough” and “ABC” followed by a dancing Groot!

This film has become part of the family. We just need to mention something to do with the film and we are laughing or singing. We have lost count how many times we have watched it, between the DVD copies and the showings on Sky movies. We don’t care, we will watch again and again. For father’s day this year we got my father-in-law a couple of goodies…awesomemixiphonecover_FotorGOTGcoversIf you have not seen this film, you need to. It’s not for children – oh no. Unlike the previous and current Marvel films, this film is really only catered to adults. Even teenagers wouldn’t appreciate the subtle elements to this film that make it brilliant and unique. I hope you get how much I love this film from how long this post is. And if you haven’t seen it – GO WATCH IT NOW! I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

“They call themselves The Guardians of the Galaxy”

Jamie

Originally posted SEP 16TH 2015 on previous website

Leave a Reply

