Moana

Moana was one of the many projects spoken about at Disney’s recent Expo. And on Wednesday the voice talent of Disney’s newest Princess was finally announced.

Auli’i Cravalho is the lucky, and talented, 14 year-old girl everyone has been talking about since yesterday. The young Hawaiin native was the last girl to be seen by the creators John Musker and Ron Clements. She didn’t believe she had the talent, but was approached by a casting agent who saw the young lady sing. Auli’i will be joining the already exciting cast that includes Dwayne Johnson (love him!) who voices Maui, a demi-god.
image2Moana is about a young woman, who uses her navigational talents to set sail for a fabled island. Joining her on the adventure is her hero, the legendary demi-god Maui. Oh and there’s music and singing included! Classic Disney!
image5image4I am very excited about this film for several reasons… Firstly Ron Clements and John Musker!!! Disney Legends!! We have them to thank for The Little Mermaid, the first of the Disney Renaissance. They are surely going to bring the magic and brilliance of that amazing period in Disney animated film history to this project.
Secondly, a new Disney soundtrack that we will hopefully be singing along too as much as we did in the 90s, and most recently with Frozen!
Thirdly, we loved Lilo & Stitch, and this is going to give us a lil bit more insight into that culture.
image8And lastly it’s a new Princess! Not only that, but for me, as a woman, I feel for the first time there is a Disney princess that looks similar to me. She has dark brown frizzy/curly hair like me, a round shaped face like me, short in height and a curvy figure, like me! Ok I am paler and have blue eyes, but everything else is like me. Now this is not an issue for me psychologically, it just made me happy. But I know it’s a popular topic now a days with adults, I mean there was critisism over how the emotions looked in InsideOut! Personally that’s gone too far for me, I mean all they are, are cartoon characters. They shouldn’t be held as “role models” for children.

Anyway, getting away from the seriousness of the topic, this film looks fab! And Moana looks fab! And Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson is in it, and he sings!!! Can’t wait!

“Aloha”

Originally posted OCT 9TH 2015 on previous website

Leave a Reply

