Disney Music – We Love Disney

So last night I finally decided to give the Apple Music trial a go. It’s free for 3 months, although I’m not sure if I’m gona sign up for good, can’t really justify it at the moment. I’ve got time though to make my decision. Anyway, so the first album I chose to listen to is the brand new “We Love Disney” album. It was released last Friday and I have been desperate to listen to it. There is another two “We Love Disney” albums, one is Austrailian, and the other is French. But this one is American/British, and stars Ne-Yo, Jason Derulo, Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Gwen Stefani, along with plenty of others.

Now I first heard about this album a couple of months ago when Jessie J posted on Instagram that she was involved. And so I started digging to see if I could find anything about it. That’s when I discovered the other two albums. The French one is mostly in French, so i didn’t get far with that one, but I did have a little listen to the Australian one, and it sounded alright. Dani Minogue was on it! I didn’t know anyone else.

It was at the Disney Expo when Ne-Yo first performed his version of “Friend Like Me”, and then I was able to find out the other artists involved in the album. My excitment began!

Now that I have listened to the album, it was certainly worth the wait. I am suitably impressed. I’ve downloaded it to my library so I can listen to it offline! That’s how good it is. I would definately reccomend this album to Disney fans, especially Adult fans, as they will appreciate it a bit more, as some of the songs don’t sound like the originals. Which is one of the reasons I love it so much.

Last week the official video to “Friend Like Me” was released. Ne-Yo performs it really well, and thankfully doesn’t try and sing it like the movie version. It’s jazzy, with a bit of R n’ B, and it’s a bit sexy too! And you can’t help but click your fingers along to it! Take a look….

 

This is definitely one of my favourite tracks on the album. The other R n’ B feel songs are Jason Derulo’s “Can You Feel The Love Tonight” from the Lion King and Ariana Grande’s “Zero to Hero” from Hercules. These aren’t as good as “Friend Like Me”. When listening to Jason Derulo, i kept waiting for him to sing “…and the trumpets they go….” lol and Ariana Grande’s voice is far to soft for such a powerful gospel song as “Zero to Hero”. It would have been better if a girl group sang it like Little Mix or Fifth Harmony. Have a listen and see if you agree…

 

Hopefully you can hear where I’m coming from. Same with Fall Out Boy sings “I Wana Be Like You” from Jungle Book, but they also have put Robbie Williams and Olly Murs version on it as well. I’m not a fan of Fall Out Boy, I didn’t like their cover of Michael Jackson’s Beat It, and I felt “I Wana Be Like You” is such a jazzy, scatty tune, it doesn’t sound as good with a pop-rock sound. But I’m glad they are on it, for those who enjoy that sound.

Now there are a few “pretty” songs on the album, and they are all lovely to listen to, and beautifully sung. Jessie J sings “Part of Your World” and it’s a lovely version of the song. It’s not sung over the top with loads of riffs. It’s sung very softly, which is unusual for Jessie J.

There are three of the singers I’d never heard of: Tori Kelly, Jhene Aiko, and Brenna Whitaker.But they all have amazing voices, and they sound beautiful. Tori Kelly sings “Colours of the Wind”, Jhene Aiko sing “in a World of my own/Good Advice” from Alice in Wonderland, and Jessie Ware sings “A Dream is a Wish” from Cinderella. I like all three, but because they made it their own and gave it a modern sound, I think Jhene Aiko’s song is slightly better. See what you think…

In terms of fun and playful songs, theres “Everybody Wants to be a Cat” by Charles Perry (hadn’t heard of him) and “A Spoonful of Sugar” by Kacey Musgraves, who is a Country singer. Her version is really fun, as she puts a country twist on the song, you can’t help but move in your seat and smile while listening to it. Really liked this one…

 

Gwen Stefani sings “The Rainbow connection” from The Muppet Movie, and Brenna Whitaker sings “It’s Not Easy Being Green” from The Muppet Show. They are both really good and both very different. However, they aren’t your typical Disney songs, and not many people connect The Muppets to Disney. They’re still good songs, but I would have chosen either “Kiss the Girl” from The Little Mermaid, or, “That’s How You Know” from Enchanted for Gwen Stefani, because they both have a Reggae sound, which suits her.

I have left my favourite song on the album till last, hehe. Now I know a lot of people are sick of hearing about, or listening to songs from Frozen. I, on the other hand, am not! I still love the songs, and my favourite song on this album is “Let it Go” by Lucy Hale feat. Rascal Flatts. It’s a mixture of the Idina Menzel and Demi Lovato versions, with a pop-country sound! I’m singing it out loud at the top of my voice! It’s still such a good song. It’s a fist pumping song – and they’re always the best!

I’ll be listening to this album in the car, while I’m getting ready, when I’m cleaning, until I get sick of it. If, I get sick of it! I’m going to download the Frozen soundtrack now too.

I’VE GONE MAD!!!

Seriously though, if you listen to music on YouTube, or Spotify or Apple Music, listen to this album. You may be impressed, or you may like a song you didn’t like before!

“LET IT GO! LET IT GO! Can’t hold it back anymore…LET IT GO! LET IT GO!” OK ill shut up now!

Jamie

Originally posted NOV 4TH 2015 on previous website

Leave a Reply

