Cinderella – Whitney & Brandy

“Impossible! For a plain, yellow pumpkin to become a golden carriage, impossible…”

A friend recently brought a blog post to my attention on Facebook. It was Disney’s film schedule for the next 4 years! Every film, every date, right up to December 2019! And I know a few people aren’t as excited about the up and coming projects, as they feel there’s too many sequels, and too many re-makes. I am looking forward to a few of the re-makes, like Beauty and the Beast, and Pete’s Dragon. Wasn’t happy when I heard about a Mary Poppins re-make, as you can’t better that film. So I started thinking about re-makes that have been made and the ones that I liked. And there’s always one film that comes to mind…

Rodger’s & Hammerstein’s Cinderella – Starring Whitney Houston and Brandy!!!!!
BrandyWhitneyHoustonCinderella_620_112012Yes, there was also the latest live-action re-make of Cinderella earlier this year, which I have not seen yet. But the Whitney version is particularly special to me.

And my sister.

And my mum!

We still remember the night it first aired on TV (It was a TV movie).We had been out for dinner as a family. Dad was home, and Sunday’s we always went out for bowling and food. Now this Sunday, back in late 1997, we managed to get home from eating out, just in time to watch the anticipated movie, starring one of my musical idols! Whitney!

As well as The Walt Disney Company, Whitney Houston produced the film, and was originally cast to play the title role. That is until she decided that Brandy should play Cinderella, and Brandy insisted Whitney play The Fairy Godmother! Win, win! Not only was Brandy the first African-American to play Cinderella, but it was the first multi-racial cast for the Rodger’s and Hammerstein’s classic. This version broke viewer ship records when it debuted, and it holds the record for the best-selling video for a made-for-TV movie.

 

This is one of those musicals I’m able to watch by the way, and I love the music! There are some cringing parts, but they don’t spoil the movie for me. They just make me giggle a bit. For example, when The Prince and Cinderella  sing, “The Sweetest Sound”, in perfect duet-timing together, having never met. Until Cinderella is nearly ran over by a horse and carriage, and then their eyes meet! Cheese! But I love it!

 

Unfortunately for me and my family, I am currently unable to purchase this on DVD in my region. My sister bought a copy on Amazon, thinking she had finally found it. But it was an American copy and wouldn’t play on her DVD player. We thought they might have re-released a copy since Whitney’s unfortunate passing, but no, they didn’t. I can watch it on YouTube though, which will have to do for just now.

The film also stars Whoopi Goldberg, who gives us some typical Whoopi comedy, along with Jason Alexander, who plays The Prince’s comedic sidekick. And Bernadette Peters plays the horrible step-mother. The broadway star is so nasty to Cinderella, but she is also very funny, and can sing!

 

So obviously I have to mention the best song in the whole movie: Impossible!!!! Whitney sings it of course. This is the song I sing in my head when I think of the movie. Or if someone mentions the movie, I automatically think “Impossible!” and it’s always Whitney singing it in my head.

 

I revisited the film a few years ago, when I was working at the Disney Store. I found out that it was also a favourite of two my friends (Jen and Primal) and we could not stop going on about it, and singing the songs! That’s when I found it on YouTube.

Don’t get me wrong, it is not the greatest movie ever made, and the acting is not brilliant. But, if you like fun, family, easy-watching, feel-good, cheesy, (but good cheesy) sing-a-long films, then I recommend you watch it.

“Impossible! Things are happening everyday!” – Fairy Godmother

Jamie

Originally posted NOV 6TH 2015 on previous website

Leave a Reply

