Inside Out

Yesterday, Inside Out was finally released here in the UK on Disney DVD and Blu-Ray! It’s Disney β€’ Pixar’s 15th animated feature and it’s the first of two films released this year! The Good Dinosaur will be the second.

Inside Out is one of Pixar’s more obscure stories. They definitely take more risks with their feature films than Disney Animation Studios, and most other animated film company’s. No one thought children would watch a love story between two robots, that also has no real dialogue until 40 minutes into the movie!? And yet everyone loves Wall-E!

So a movie about five characters that represent five emotions inside a child’s head was risky! Or was it?

During the film you get to see how five emotions work inside a young girls head, and how her mum and dads emotions work too. Director Pete Doctor said the idea for the film cam to him after going through the experience of watching his daughter change as she grew older.

I remember reading the reviews when it was released in the states, I wanted to know if this was going to be another genius story, like Wall-E. Unfortunately though, a lot of the criticism from some reviews were about how the emotion characters looked, in particular Joy and Sadness. They’re anger was addressed at Joy being tall and thin, and Sadness was short and fat, which meant people who were tall and thin represent happiness, and fat short people were sad and depressed. However without having seen the film at the time, I did feel this was a bit harsh of the critics. I don’t think young children would have watched the film thinking they had to be thin in order to be happy. As an adult, and a woman, when I first saw the characters, all I thought was how brilliant they looked. I thought Sadness looked so cute, and I wanted to cuddle her. Anger just represented every TV dad I had watched on Tele. For me, they are meant to represent emotions, not physicality. But every one is entitled to their opinion and you may agree with the critics. I just don’t want animated movies to be criticised over issues, that seem to be more of a problem with adults than children. Animated movies are all about imagination, and fantasy. Not real life. In fact, the director, Pete Doctor has stated that each emotion is represented by a shape. Joy is a star, Sadness is a teardrop, Anger is a fire brick, Fear is a raw nerve, and Disgust is broccoli. So let’s meet the characters…

(pictures not available)

They are very colourful characters, and they are full of personality. Wouldn’t you love to know your mind had a similar gang inside your head?

I was so excited about watching Inside Out, but I got a bit worried at the start of the film. I felt the beginning was a bit slow, and I was worried it wasn’t going to be what I expected. But don’t worry, I stuck with it, and so glad I did. I nearly cried in the end, the movie was that good. And Sadness is my favourite. Oh and Bing Bong is fab! He is Riley’s imaginary friend.

Did you know, psychologists and other experts were consulted so the writers could make the way Riley’s mind works scientifically accurate. For example, it is believed that short-term memories made during the day are converted into long-term memories during sleep, which is what happens in Riley’s mind.

This film is now one of my favourite Disney Pixar films, and it’s on my Christmas list. It should be on everyone’s Christmas list! This film is perfect for family’s, especially those family’s who are going through a similar change with their children, as Riley goes through in the film. the same scenario that inspired the Director to make the film. Parents and children may appreciate and understand each other a bit better.

If I can’t convince you to watch it, maybe this interesting fact will. It received an eight-minute standing ovation at its world premier at the Cannes Film Festival!

“I think it’s great that you guys are making a film that shows it’s difficult to grow up and that it’s okay to be sad about it.” – Mindy Kaling (when given the cript and asked if she would play Disgust)

Jamie

Originally posted NOV 24TH 2015 on previous website

Leave a Reply

