Star Wars: The Force Awakens – WOW!

It’s been two and half weeks since it’s release here in the UK, and it’s broken nearly all box office records, and I’ve see it twice already! Could this be the best movie of the Star Wars saga? Is it the best movie we’ve ever seen? It’s about to surpass Avatar’s domestic box office record, will that proof it’s the best or greatest film of all time? To be honest, the box office figures don’t really bother me, and doesn’t have any affect on my opinion on any film I’ve seen. However, it is very impressive…

If you haven’t seen the film yet, then probably best to not continue to read this post. Not that I plan on writing about spoilers, it would be better for you to see the film with an open mind. I didn’t read any reviews, and I didn’t watch any TV spots or the trailer again. I didn’t want to be dissapointed.

Obviously that didn’t happen to me as I LOVED it! I do believe this might just be the teeniest, tinyiest bit better than any of the Star Wars films. Yes you may disagree, but the original trilogy will always be up there, and I can still watch them over and over again. I just found with The force Awakens, there was nothing I could find wrong with it. Honestly. There was no boring bits, or cringing bits. Yes there were a couple of parallels to A New Hope, but I think that was done deliberately for fans. J. J. Abrahams is obviously a massive fan of the saga himself, and he definitely added some references to the original trilogy for us die-hard fans.
IMG_5109Like most fans, I was really excited about seeing the original cast. I couldn’t believe they all agreed to do the film, and be part of the saga all over again. But what surprised me the most was how much the new cast members stole the movie! None of them got over-shadowed by old cast members, or by each other. They held their own. And I was suitably impressed with their acting. Daisy Ridley reminded me on a young Kiera Knightly, and Jon Boyega was just FAB! Both of them are young and fresh to the screen, and any criticism they may have gotten before the film was released is now moot! I was really disappointed though when I read about the racial abuse on the internet towards Jon Boyega. I mean it’s 2016 (2015 at the time) for goodness sake. Well without having to make any comments or reaction towards the negativity, his performance was a massive “Up Yours” to those morons.

Poe, played by Oscar Isaac, was another of my favourites, and I really hope the “Bro-mance” between him and Finn continues in the next film(s). And Kylo-Ren, the villain, played by Adam Driver was brilliant! He is a like-able villain, not in the comedic sense, but in the awesomeness sense. I’m really excited how he develops in the next film(s).
IMG_5111In regards to the original cast, I felt Chewbacca got a lot more screen time in this film, than any of the originals. He definitely became a lead in this film, along with great cheesy comedy moments with Han Solo. They brought a lot of old-school fun to the film. Carrie Fisher, however, got a lot of stick for how she looked. I mean it’s been 32 years since Return of the Jedi, of course she has aged! And without specifying what happend, the ending of the film was very clever. You can’t help but hold your breath during the final sequence. It gave me goosebumps!

I’m so glad I went to see it twice. The first time was in 3D which was epic, but I was constantly squealing with excitement throughout the film. I was completely amazed by it all. So the second time, which I saw in 2D, I was relaxed and enjoyed it like I was watching it at home on DVD. Still couldn’t find anything wrong with it, and can’t wait to own it so I can watch it over and over again. My mum even picked me up a surprise vinylmation and I got Poe!!!
IMG_5105Star Wars: The Force Awakens has now become Disney’s highest grossing film ever! And it’s certainly deserved it. I know of people who have never seen any of the Star Wars films, who’ve now become fans after seeing The Force Awakens. If you haven’t already, you must go and see it – it’s FAB!

“The force is strong in my family. My father has it. I have it. My sister has it. You have that power, too.” – Luke [from trailer]
Luke Skywalker: The Force is strong in my family. My father has it. I have it. My sister has it. You have that power, too.” – Luke Skywalker

Jedi Wynder

Leave a Reply

