High School Musical – 10 YEARS!!!

On January 20th, it will be the 10th anniversary of HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL! I know, I can’t believe it either. You have no idea how old I feel right now. Looking back at when I first heard about it, and seeing posters, and clips. And I don’t think it mattered where you were in the world, you would have heard of it. I was living in Spain at the time, and it was HUGE over there. Even though I didn’t have the Disney Channel, and the internet was rubbish, it was that popular I still knew about it.
high_school_musical_by_adorablekitty08It was my old school friend, Orasa, from Aberdeen, who messaged me about the famous TV movie. She was so excited about it, and told me to get it, that I would love it! But it actually wouldn’t be until I moved back to the UK, until I would see it from start to finish for the first time. (I did however see the sequel, because it was on TV during my last summer in Spain). I had to see it though, because when I got the Christmas temp job at Disney Store, the third movie had just been released in the cinema. I needed to know how Troy and Gabriella sang they’re way into everyone’s hearts, and iPods.

I remember thinking, while watching it for the first time, how really cheap it looked in the opening scene. I mean, they’re supposed to be at this magical holiday ski lodge, celebrating New Years eve, and you could SO tell it was a studio. But, to my surprise, I really liked the “cheesiness” I felt when they started to sing. I mean, how lucky was it, that a basketball highschooler, and a pretty bookworm, would both sing amazingly in time with each other on KAREOKE! CHEEEEEEEESE! But loved it!

When I found out Kenny Ortega was responsible for this HSM epidemic, I thought, no wonder its good cheese! I was suitably impressed as well with the cast. A bunch of unknowns. Disney obviously had no idea at the time, that they would have several future stars.
The film and it’s sequels are what every young girl and boy should be watching. It was so refreshing to watch, and I can’t think of a really good feel-good cheesy film that was made in the naughties, other than HSM. A group of young teenagers, from different “clicks” in a clichรฉ scenario, becoming friends, working together, with great songs along the way.

Disney Channel hosted a HSM reunion at the weekend, which fans will be over the moon with. Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Tisdale, Lucas Gabreel, Corbin Bleu and Monique Coleman came together for a 10 year anniversary special. Unfortunately, Zac Efron was not able to make the taping, and recorded his own separate message for the special. I’m still looking forward to watching it though. I’ll probably have a HSM marathon this weekend. Ben loves it too, so I won’t need to worry about him lol.

“We’re soaring”

SING IT!!!!

“Flying”

SING LOUDER!!!

“There’s not a star in heaven that we can’t reach…”

Jamie

2 Replies to “High School Musical – 10 YEARS!!!”

    1. I know!!! I was speaking to a friend of mine today about it, she still works at Disney Store and she still remembers when all the merchandise came in and everyone went mad over it!! It’s so scary how much time does fly by! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

