The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh

The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh was released in the US, on March 11th, 1977. A collection of three stories, about a silly old bear, called Winnie the Pooh. It was one of Disney’s classics that I grew up with on VHS.
But the three stories were originally released separately, which Disney produced based on A.A. Milne’s books. You have Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree (1966), Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day (1968) and Winnie the Pooh and Tigger Too (1974). Extra bits were added to blend in the three stories to make one feature film.
It’s important to know though, this Disney classic, is officially the last feature film that Walt Disney was involved with. He produced the first story and it was released while he was still alive. He also produced Blustery Day, but it was released, along with Tigger Too after his death. He also originally wanted to do a feature film, but felt the featurettes would be a good way to introduce the classic tales of Pooh to American audiences. I’d like to think he would be happy that they were put together to make Disney’s 22nd classic.
And did you ever watch the TV series back in the 90’s? We used to love watching it, I think we had a couple of them on Video as well. And we always got the straight to video specials they did, like the Christmas ones. I hope they bring it back to Disney Channel.

I had the original Winnie the Pooh stories by A.A. Milne when I was a kid, which I read a few times. So I purchased the entire book collection for Jacob last year, and have began reading them already at bedtime. They are so cleverly written, but I must admit, when I read Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree, I couldn’t help but sing the famous songs from Disney’s featurette, instead of trying to sing A.A. Milne’s rhymes.

The songs are always in my head, and they are so easy for me to sing if I can’t think of anything else to sing, especially to Jacob to make him giggle.

A.A. Milne’s stories are wonderful to read, but if it wasn’t for Disney, we wouldn’t have the silly old bear we have loved and know today.

“People say nothing’s impossible, but I do nothing everyday.” – Winnie the Pooh

Jamie

2 Replies to “The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh”

    1. Yeah my sister and I watched the video a lot when we were kids. Such an easy watch, always feel good after it. Piglet I just want to give a big hug to! Thanks for reading xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

