Star Wars: Episode I

Despite A New Hope being the first released Star Wars film, I’m starting from episode order. Which means, we begin with The Phantom Menace. Released May 16th in the U.S and July 16th in the UK, back in 1999.
thephantommenace1I was 13 years old when my Godmother invited me to join her and some friends to go see the long-awaited episode. I was so excited, like every other fan. I was finally going to see Luke’s father, before he became Darth Vader. I was going to see Obi-Wan and Yoda, before they got old, and died. But I was really looking forward to meeting Liam Neeson’s character, and seeing the villain Darth Maul, He was the face of the film. His red and black face, spikes and yellow eyes were on every poster promoting the film. Plus his lightsaber looked SO COOL!
Now I’m not going to ramble too much about the film, because you’ve seen it, or may be not seen it yet. However, I will say, and I think a lot of the fans will agree with me, that The Phantom Menace was a bit of a dissappointment.
I enjoyed learning about Anakin Skywalker, but the boy was a bit anoying (he was a pain in the ass in Jingle all the way too). It was nice to see similarities between Anakin and Luke, and the relationship between Qui-Gon Jinn and Anakin was similar to Obi-Wan and Luke.
Still to this day, I don’t get Natalie Portman’s character, Queen Amidala/Padme. I remember being so confused when she dressed normally to go with Qui-Gon Jinn, when they found Anakin. Urgh and when Anikan called her an “angel” lol CHEESE! Did not see their relationship coming in episode 2 btw, but that’s another blog post.
Oh oh but who did surprise me, was Samuel L. Jackson! He was meant to be a Jedi, and I was so happy to see his character, Mace Windu. in episodes 2 & 3.

BUT (big “but” btw) Jar-Jar Binks? WTF Mr. Lucas?
darthmaulobiwanI’m gona finish with the villain, Darth Maul, as he was the biggest disappointment of the film. Like I said earlier, he was on every poster, and he was also in the TV spots. Fans dressed up as this unknown character when they went to see the film for the first time. And yet, I think it’s about 8 minutes in total that Darth Maul actually has of screen time! Then he DIES, so it’s not like he was being introduced as the villain of the trilogy either. *takes a breath*

Do you agree with me? Let me know what you thought of episode 1. Let me know what you liked about it.
yoda“Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering. I sense much fear in you.” – Yoda (if only the Jedi council listened to him)

Jamie

Leave a Reply

