Star Wars – Episode VI

The last episode of my favourite trilogy, and the celebration of the Star Wars Saga. Have I left the best for last though…? Well may be not, as Empire Strikes Back is better, but Return of the Jedi is awesome in it’s own right.
It does get the most stick from fans, with the Endor setting featuring the Ewoks, Boba Fett being killed off, and a giant toad creature as a main villain!?

As a young girl though, I loved it! Along with A New Hope, I had Return of the Jedi on video, but weirdly I only had 2 thirds of the film, as it had been recorded. But that didn’t stop me from playing it over and over again.
Princess Leia became the hero saving her “damsel” in distress, in this case, frozen in carbonate. And despite failing to escape with Han, and becoming a prop for the villain Jabba the hut wearing a gold bikini, she doesn’t waste her opportunity to kill the fat toad!

Return of the Jedi brings the gang back together. Although Luke does go back to see an “old friend”. Which meant we got to see Yoda again, YAY! But then he dies, awwwww. But before he dies, he does confirm to Luke that Darth Vader is indeed his father. Noooooo!
Then Luke discovers he has a sibling. A TWIN. A TWIN SISTER! Hmmmmm, I wonder who that could be??? God I remember how shocked I was – but at the same time I was so glad because it meant Leia would definitely choose Han. Hehe, I know it sounds so silly saying it now, but it was a big deal for me as a little girl.

So Luke goes off on a mission to help save his father from the Dark Side, as all of a sudden he ‘senses’ good in him. Oh its such good cheese! Love it!

I LOVED the Ewoks by the way. I would put Return of the Jedi on just so I could watch them. I even had the Ewok movie on video. If you don’t know what I’m talking about then click here (its the full movie on youtube!). So yeah, these walking fur balls were the cutest thing EVER, I so wanted one of my own. I’m definitely gona try and get a plush when I’m at DLP.
ewokOh and the scene when one of them dies, and his friend sits by him crying when he realises, awww it breaks my heart. I use to cry when I was a kid. But luckily no others die, well not that we see.

But you know what annoys me about this film now, is the scene at the end, when everyone’s celebrating, and Luke turns and sees the ghost of Obi-Wan, Yoda and his father. This scene used to give me goosebumps, until George Lucas changed his father from Sebastian Shaw to Hayden Christensen. Now the reason this annoys me is because he died older. They kept Obi-Wan and Yoda old! It just ruins the scene I’m sorry but it does.
jedighostsSo we now come to the end of me rambling on, and sadly this is the last of the Star Wars films I will be celebrating (I’ve written enough about The Force Awakens I think – for just now anyway). The Last post will obviously be the Fun Facts, and then its completely finished. So thank you for reading, and remember I’d love to know your favourite film from the saga. Or what you like/dis-like about the films.

“You underestimate the power of the Dark Side. If you will not fight, then you will meet your destiny.” – Darth Vader

Jedi Wynder

One Reply to “Star Wars – Episode VI”

Leave a Reply

