Alice Through The Looking Glass

Thought I’d stick with the current theme of Alice in Wonderland, and tell you my thoughts on the latest instalment, Alice Through the Looking Glass. I finally managed to see it in between work, Jacob, blogging, my birthday and our Paris trip. Have to admit though, I wasn’t too fussed about going to see it, simply because it was a sequel, and I was scared I’d be disappointed. So I was planning on waiting till it came out on DVD. But I’d read really positive reviews from fellow bloggers, and with the success of the make up range and merchandise in the Disney Store, I couldn’t wait till it came out on DVD anymore.

I have no intention of spoiling this film for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet. But sometimes I do get a bit carried away and spill things unintentionally. So if you don’t want to know anything about the film then stop reading and go see it!

Firstly I want to say how much I loved Alice being the Captain of her father’s ship. Back in those days it would have been un-heard of for a woman to become an explorer, never mind a captain of a ship. Using the skills she learnt from “Underland”, living by her own rules and morals, she has become a very likeable heroine!

I didn’t realise until after I’d seen the film that Tim Burton didn’t direct it. He did still produce it though, which is may be why I felt it was still his film. All the cast were the same, thank god, because I hate when they do a sequel and the original cast is not involved. Sadly though, I think this is officially the last film released starring the late Alan Rickman. That still hasn’t really sunk in for me to be honest.
iracebethAlice Through the Looking Glass gives us a lot more insight into our favourite characters. Learning more about their past, which for certain characters, made me like them more. In the first film we learnt Alice’s past, and were witnessing her potential present. In this film, it’s about the other character’s and their past which isΒ affecting their present, that also has an effect on Alice’s future! Hopefully you understand what I mean. This is why we are introduced to the new character Time, played by the brilliant Sacha Baron Cohen.

Now I was not a fan of Borat, or Ali-G, I never found those characters funny. But I’ve watched him being interviewed, and I know he is a very intelligent and talented man. I’ve liked his performances in films such as Les Miserables, Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby and of course, Madagascar. Not sure exactly what accent he is portraying in this film, although I think it’s supposed to be French, may be?! Anyway, he is fab as Time. And his scenes with Helena Bohem Carter are SO GOOD! They do have chemistry I think. I loved them in Les Miserables.

Speaking of Ms. Carter, I love the back story about the Queen of Hearts, Iracebeth and her sister, Mirana, played by Anne Hathaway. I forgot that they were sisters for a start lol, but it was so clever how their back story connected with everyone else. In particularly the Mad Hatter. Without giving anything away, we learn why certain things have happened, all because of their relationship falling apart.
Mad Hatter’s family, their history, have also got a lot to do with Iracebeth and Mirana. We learn a bit more of why Mad Hatter is, well, mad!And I do love when everything is connected, and you weren’t aware until it’s all explained, or at the end of the story.
madhatter2I did feel, that with everything going on in the middle of the film with the other characters, Alice was overshadowed. Not for long, they quickly brought her back towards the end of the film. It’s just, with her name being part of the title, she is the main character still. But it also gives credit to the other actors and their characters, because they are so strong, that they became more memorable than Alice and her story.

However, I think I liked this better than the first film. Sorry if you disagree, but I loved Iracebeth, Mirana and Time so much, and the storyline was SO GOOD! I was so surprised myself, because lets face it, it’s not often the sequel is as good, never mind better than the first. I really hope they make a third.

I didn’t spoil anything did I? I hope not. I can’t wait to have this on Blu-Ray and watch them both. Which one was your fav? Did you like Through the Looking Glass? If you haven’t seen it, and you liked the first, I highly recommend you go see it.

“When the day becomes the night and the sky becomes the sea, When the clock strikes heavy and there’s no time for tea. And in our darkest hour, before my final rhyme, she will come back home to Wonderland and turn back the hands of time.” – Cheshire Cat

Jamie

Leave a Reply

