A New Home

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18184851/?claim=7h4npsybg7b”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

So I got the worst email the other day: My renewal bill arrived in my inbox from Bluehost – boooooooooo! At first I wasn’t worried, but that was because I opened the renewal for my domain and not for the hosting. So $15 for another year seemed awesome to me. That is until I realised I made a mistake.
For another year of Bluehost hosting my website, I’d have to pay $123! I can’t afford that!? So I started to look at my options…
My options aren’t looking great, only because I have no idea what I’m doing! I have read so many tips and advice on the internet. Blogs about transferring your blog to another host etc. blah blah blah… Why can’t someone o it for me?!
After lots of research, and pestering fellow bloggers on twitter, I have decided to start a fresh, give my blog a new home – a FREE home. I figured that with me not using my blog to make money, I’d be paying out every year with no return. Some people might not have a problem with that, and possibly in the future I may go back to a premium hosting site and pay for my own domain.
This has already become scary for me, letting go of something I’ve worked REALLY hard on. It is made me feel sick to my stomach, but at the same time, it gives me the opportunity, while still early on in my blogging, to make it better. Trying to be positive about all this.
So the transition has begun, I have 5 weeks until my blog expires, thats 5 weeks to back up all my posts, create the new home, and get accustomed to the new place.
All my social media accounts will stay the same, as I’ve managed to keep the same name, but it’s slightly adjusted, with a “wordpress.com” on the end.
Also, I may not be posting as frequently, due to being busy decorating the new place, plus knowing my blog is going to expire, it feels pointless adding more to it. But at the same time, I have paid for it, so I will post a few more things.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jamie

Leave a Reply

