The Blogger Recognition Award

The lovely Kate from Violet Daffodils nominated me for this award, which I was over the moon about. Thanks you Kate. You can read Kate’s post here, and also, check out the blogs of the other nominees Kate chose, which you’ll find at the end of her post. So let’s begin…
Rules:
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the post you created.

 

How My Blog Started:
It started while I was on Maternity Leave, after having Jacob. The idea and want to start a blog had been on my mind for a long time. I had actually spoken about it a few times with my husband, who encouraged me to try it of course. But as most of you felt before starting your blog, I didn’t think I could because I didn’t think I was a writer. I thought you had to be a writer, or have a great understanding of writing and literature in order to be a blogger.
The want, never went away, and my friend Primal was doing so well with his blog. He too encouraged me to try it, but he advised me to do my research, as he did. But what was I going to blog about? That played on my mind as well, even before I did my research, because there was a few things I wanted to talk about, but I also didn’t want my blog to be a mixture. I wanted it to have a theme, or a main topic. I also needed it to stand out from everyone else.
I realised early on in the summer of 2015, that the one topic I had a lot to say about, that also affected me on a daily basis, was Disney. So, I had my blog theme, now I needed to do A LOT of research. By August 2015, I was confident about starting a blog, and I was encouraged by my husband, Primal, and the rest of my family to go for it. And so, on September 1st 2015 I published my first blog post. One of the best decisions I have made.

Advice to New Bloggers:

RESEARCH!

A lot of people believe, like I did once, that you just type and post, and whatever it is that you said in that post is out there in the internet for the world to read. It’s not as simple as that. I knew I wanted to succeed at blogging, by succeed I mean for myself, wanting to keep doing it, and not fail at it. So because I didn’t want it to be a fail, and something else I tried, I researched. I spoke to people I knew who blogged, like my friend Primal, and I read a lot of advice and tips online about blogging.
Oh and the research doesn’t stop by the way. I am always reading posts and websites with tips and advice on how to better my blog, or keep me motivated with my blog. So don’t think you research just to start, the research needs to continue. There’s always someone out there willing to help, so don’t be afraid to ask.

IDEAS: WRITE THEM DOWN!

Before I created my first blog site, I wanted to have plenty of content to write about. I also wanted to make sure I had plenty to say. I didn’t want to start my blog, and a couple of months down the line, have no ideas on what to write.
I got myself a notebook and wrote every possible blog post idea down that I could think of. I even asked family and friends for some ideas. This really helped, and my sister in particular loved getting involved in helping me with my new venture.
But your ideas doesn’t have to be about posts, it could be bigger than that, like ideas in which to update your blog site, or how to take better photos. Any idea you have about your blog you should make a note of, either on paper or on your phone, tablet etc. Don’t let the idea slip away.

I nominate the following bloggers for this award:

Primal from Prim & Propa
Rachael from Girl Behind The Blue Door
Kat from Kat Last
Kimberley from A Tea is a Wish Your Heart Makes
Katy from Little Miss Katy
Emily from Hollywood & Lime
Amie from The Curvaceous Vegan
Natasha from The Happy Larkspur
Emily from The Mini Mermaid
Becky from Blogger & The Geek
Stacey from Unicorn Fairy
Daisy from The Dee Who Lived
Corinne from Skinned Car Tree
Jenny from Jenny in Neverland
Amy from Scariel’s Grotto

Please take the time to look at these fantastic bloggers and their websites. You’ll find Fashion, Lifestyle, Mummy, Food, Beauty & Disney bloggers, so you’re sure to find a new blog to follow!

Thanks again Kate for tagging me, it was nice to write about, and I hope my advice helps someone.

Jamie

8 Replies to “The Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. Thank you so much for including me in this post Jamie! I promise I’ll get this done as soon as I can, as I’ve got another award post to go up next week. Loved your advice to new bloggers too, writing ideas down is a great idea, as I often get them while I’m out and about so I jot them down in a little notepad now, but it’s such a good point! Loved the story about how you got started too. – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No problem Jaymie! I really enjoyed reading your response to the nomination and learning how you got into blogging ๐Ÿ˜€ I definitely thought the same that you had to be a writer to do it. I love that you had so much support and encouragement to start one ๐Ÿ™‚ I completely agree that the research never stops after starting a blog, which I used to think it did when I first started so naively but there’s always so much to learn so it’s great that you talked about this ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m terrible with ideas though, I write them down but seem to leave them for months and months haha, going to try and be better with that though :’)

    Hope you have a great week!

    VioletDaffodils
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

